The Little Prize  

The Centre for Oral History and Digital Storytelling and the Office of Community Engagement offer a $500 annual award to a COHDS community affiliate (ie non-student, non-professor). This community affiliate will have made a meaningful contribution to their community, through oral-history research-creation, arts-based storytelling, and/or creative, place-based, oral history work.  

The award is named for Dr Ted Little (Theatre), a longstanding core COHDS affiliate, who through his teaching and work as a theatre professional has been a great champion of community-based theatre, storytelling, and artists making change in and with non-profit organizations.  

The Little Prize is intended to recognize exceptional oral history research-creation work outside the university’s walls. It is the first prize to be offered through COHDS that honours our extended community. Self-nominations are welcome. The Little Prize is usually awarded at the COHDS Annual General Assembly 

To submit a nomination: In one page (pdf preferred), please summarize the contributions of the community affiliate you wish to nominate. Please clearly identify the full name and contact information of the nominee and provide your own full name and contact information.  

Nominations can be sent to COHDS co-lead director Dr. Barbara Lorenzkowski at:

The deadline for nominations is September 15, 2023


2023 Catherine Charlebois

2022 Emma Haraké

2021 Eric Craven

2020 Amandine Gay

2019 Joyce Pillarella   

2018 Shahrzad Arshadi