Accessibility Tools



Award Winners


A number of our affiliated members won awards this year for the excellence of their research, teaching creative practice, student engagement, curatorial work, and life-time achievement. Here are some of the highlights :


      ·   Angie Arseneault (PhD Humanities). Governor General's Gold Medal for her MFA work at the Nova Scotia College of Art and Design (NSCAD University).

      ·  Cynthia Hammond (Lead Co-Director). SSHRC Partnership Engage funding for her one-year project titled, "Urban Witnesses: Neighbourhood Change, Montreal's Elders, and Oral History Performance and Research-Creation".

      ·  Ron Rudin. Prix de l’Assemblée nationale of the Institut d’histoire de l’Amérique française and Honorable mention for the Best Book Award from the National (US) Council of Public History for his book "Kouchibougouac. Removal, Resistance, and Remembrance at a National Park".



·      Arshadi, Shahrzad. Femme de mérite 2017 - Prix Inspiration , Fondation Y des Femmes de Montréal

·      Chalupa, Amanda. Top 25 finalist in the 2017 Storytellers Challenge, SSHRC Pour Rebuilding Community and the Lives of Child Migrants

·      Dyer Jalea, Gracia. 2017 June Callwood Outstanding Achievement Award for Voluntarism, Ontario Ministry for Citizenship and Immigration

·      Foster, Gavin. 2 015 James S. Donnelly, Sr. Prize for Books on History and Social Sciences, American Conference for Irish Studies * Awarded April 2016

·      Cambre, Maria-Carolina. 2017 Early Investigator Award (honour), Canadian Sociological Association (CSA)

·      MacKinnon, Lachlan. 2017 Governor General Academic Medal (Gold), Concordia University for her PhD Dissertation, “ Deindustrialization on the Periphery: An Oral History of Sydney Steel, 1945-2001

·      Rudin, Ron. Shortlisted for the 2017 Macdonald prize for best book of the year in Canadian history, Canadian Historical Associationfor his book Kouchibouguac: Removal, Resistance, and Remembrance at a Canadian National Park

·      Little, Edward (Ted). 2017 Engaged Scholar Award - Faculty, Concordia University

·      Hammond, Cynthia. 2017 Faculty of Fine Arts Distinguished Teaching Award - Established FT Faculty Member, Concordia University

·     Amadine Gay just won the People's Choice awards at the RIDM documentary festival this week for her film: Ouvrir La Voix/Speak Up/ Make Your Way



·      Schwab, Tim. 2016 Gold Star, World Documentary Awards, Jakarta, Indonesia for his film Cinema Palestine

·      Radu, Ioana. 2016 Distinguished Doctoral Dissertation Prize in Fine Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences, Concordia Universityfor her PhD Dissertation

·      Radu, Ioana. Prix annuel de l’Association canadienne d’histoire orale 2016 Pour sa dissertation de doctorat “ Healing in Chisasibi

·      Zembrzycki, Stacey. Shortlisted for the 2016 Taras Shevchenko Foundation Biennial Kobzar Literary Award



·       Steven High was awarded the 2015 Clio-Québec Book Prize from the Canadian Historical Association for Oral History at the Crossroads: Sharing Life Stories of Survival and Displacement (Vancouver: University of British Columbia Press, 2014).

·       Karoline Truchon was awarded “Meilleur dossier de doctorat avec thèse", Faculté des sciences sociales, Université Laval, Février 2015

·       Lena Aiaris and Henri Quenette received the Merit Award at the San Francisco Film Awards for their film Tenderloin.

·       Steven High named to the Provost Circle for Achievement at Concordia in 2015




·       Stacey Zembrzycki and Anna Sheftel were awarded the 2014 Best Book Prize from the US Oral History Association for their edited collection Oral History Off the Record: Toward an Ethnography of Practice (New York: Palgrave-Macmillan, 2013).

·       Ronald Rudin and Phil Lichti were awarded the 2014 Public History Prize from the Canadian Historical Association for their online memoryscape website, “Returning the Voices to Kouchibouguac National Park.”

·       Carol Jones received the Excellency Award from the Association des Interprètes du Patrimoine du Québec for her Angelique project.

·       Ceri Morgan received the Prix du Quebec by the Quebec Government Office in London in 2014.

·       Eric Weissman - Tee 2014 CAGS Distinguished Dissertation Award in the Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences

·       Shauna Janssen received the Doctoral Prize: First Graduating Class Award for most innovative and new contribution to academic and extra-curricular University Life

·       Catherine Foisy received Mention honorable pour le prix Paul A. Bator Memorial Award du meilleur article publié dans Historical Studies Canadian Catholic Historical Association (CCHA)

·       Ronald Rudin completed his term as Trudeau Foundation Fellow

·       Aude Maltais-Landry received the best thesis prize from the Department of History at Concordia University.

·       Aude Maltais-Landry is this year’s winner of the COHDS Prize for Excellence in Oral History for her master’s thesis entitled “Récits de Nutashkuan : la création d’une réserve indienne en territoire innu»

·       Tim Schwab - Best Documentary, Arab Film Festival, California

·       Steven High - Elected Member of the College of New Scholars of the Royal Society of Canada. 2014.

·       Stéphane Martelly was awarded the 2014 Michel Tournier literary prize for children’s literature for La Maman qui s’absentait (Vents d’ailleurs).



·       Erika Hasebe-Ludt received the Ted T. Aoki Award for Distinguished Service in Canadian Curriculum Studies at the Canadian Association for Curriuclum Studies.

·        Students involved in the COHDS-based research project Montreal Life Stories, funded under SSHRC Community-University Research Alliance program, received awards for animated film (Paul Tom, Que je vie en paix), documentary film (Paul Tom won the Spirafilm Prize at the Rendez-vous du cinéma québécois for Un pays de silences and received a special mention on the fringe of the Pierre and Yolande Perreault Prize for the Best First or Second Documentary Film), and student engagement (Annie Girard and two university interns, Quebec’s Force Avenir). 



·       Older awards were given by the US Oral History Association for teaching excellence (Megan Webster and the Montreal Life Stories Project), and museum curation (Catherine Charlebois and the Centre d’histoire de Montréal). Ronald Rudin won the book prize from the US National Council for Public History in 2011 for Remembering and Forgetting in Acadie and has held a Trudeau Fellowship since 2011.  Liz Miller’s films have been similarly recognized, including the Award of Merit from the Latin American Studies Association for Novela, her 2012 film on a group of Nicaraguan feminists. Many team members have also received Concordia-wide or Faculty awards for their teaching and research, with Steven High being inducted into the Royal Society of Canada’s College of New Scholars and Ted Little serving as a Provost’s teaching fellow this year. 




Concordia University